As promised, here is your list of gluten-free and dairy-free hot dogs and sausages. Fire up your grills and enjoy!
Note: This post was written on 5/14/09. Ingredients can change, so always read the label.
Aidells Sausages has many sausages that are gluten-free and dairy-free. They also make a line of organic sausages. Gluten-free products are clearly labeled.
All products are gluten-free EXCEPT: Spicy Mango & Jalapeno Sausage, Teriyaki Meatballs, Spicy Bacon & Bleu Cheese Char-Broilers and Bacon & Cheddar Char-Broilers (these contain soy sauce).
All products are dairy-free EXCEPT: Pesto Sausage, Sun-Dried Tomato & Mozzarella Sausage, Spinach & Feta Sausage, Sun-Dried Tomato & Parmesan Cheese Meatballs, Spicy Bacon & Bleu Cheese Char-Broilers and Bacon & Cheddar Char-Broilers.
All of Applegate Farms beef, chicken and turkey hot dogs are gluten-free and dairy-free. All sausages are gluten-free, all are dairy-free except Spinach & Feta flavor.
No statement from Ball Park’s parent company, Sara Lee. You have to read the label. I did notice that they use soy protein, corn starch and MSG in a lot of their franks. Also, if you think you are gettingÂ a turkey dog, watch out — there is beef in it! Basically, stay away from these hot dogs and go for a more natural brand!
This brand of hot dog can be found in northern California. The parent company’s website, Spar Sausage Co., says of their dogs, “SPAR Sausage CompanyÂ® does not add MSG (monosodium glutamate), fillers, or artificial colors, flavors or ingredients. Our products are also gluten-free.” On the phone they told me that Casper’s hot dogs do contain dairy.
Coleman Natural Beef Hot Dogs, Beef-Pork Franks and Bratwurst are gluten-free, dairy-free and soy-free
All sausage from the Diestel Turkey Ranch are gluten-free and dairy-free except Spinach and Feta with Pine Nuts flavor.
Dietz and Watson
Dietz and Watson’s New York Brand Deli Beef Franks, Regular Franks and Regular Weiners and Bratwurst are gluten-free. Fat Free Beef Franks, Gourmet Lite Franks, and Gourmet Lite Beef Franks are NOT gluten-free — one contains hydrolyzed oat flour (weird!) Regular Franks do contain nonfat dry milk and isolated soy protein.
A couple of readers let me know that they love Freybe, located in Canada with some products available in the U.S. According to the Freybe website, “With the exception of our British Bangers, all Freybe meat products are free of glutens.” Regarding dairy: “Cheese Smokies and Parmesano Salami aside, all Freybe products are made without any milk ingredients, making them perfectly suitable for those allergic to milk or milk products.”
Hans All Natural Sausages have many gluten-free and dairy-free varieties of sausage: Chipotle Pepper Chicken Sausage, Mild Italian Chicken Sausage, Organic Breakfast Links Chicken Sausage, Skinless Chicken Breakfast Links, Spicy Andouille Chicken Sausage, Spicy Chorizo Chicken Sausage, Sun-dried Tomato and Basil Chicken Sausage, and Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage. There are some varieties that contain dairy.
Hebrew National franks are gluten-free and dairy-free except for Franks in a Blanket. They all contain hydrolyzed soy protein.
Just like Ball Park, no statement from Hillshire Farms‘ parent company, Sara Lee. You have to read the label. These use soy protein, corn syrup and MSG in their products.
Jennie-O Turkey Franks and Jumbo Turkey Franks are gluten-free.
Jones Dairy Farm
All of the sausage at Jones Dairy Farm is gluten-free EXCEPT for Scrapple. And even though there is â€œDairyâ€ in the companyâ€™s name, their products do not contain dairy! More information: Jones Dairy Farms list of gluten-free products.
For the corn-allergic: Some of the packages are coated with a grain-based talc (corn) as a processing aid.
Niman Ranch franks and sausages are gluten-free. (confirmed via phone) Hot dogs contain dairy.
Oscar Mayer‘s parent company is Kraft, which has a “policy for all Kraft and Nabisco products to list ingredients that contain gluten on the ingredient statement. These items will be listed using commonly known terms such as Wheat, Barley, Oats or Rye. For other ingredients that contain gluten, the grain source will be declared in parenthesis after the ingredient name. For example, if the ingredient “natural flavor” contains a gluten source, the label would read: natural flavor (contains rye). Other ingredients that contain gluten are: Triticale, Spelt, Kamut, Mir or Farina (also known as Far or Farro).”
So, you need to read the labels. Judging from the ingredient lists of the Oscar Mayer hot dogs I looked at, they are gluten-free and dairy-free with the exception of the ones that are filled with cheese. Of course, be sure to always check.
For the corn-allergic: All of their products contain either corn syrup or corn starch.
Rocky Dogs are chicken hot dogs that are gluten-free, dairy-free and soy-free.
Sabrett Frankfurters are gluten-free. From the label it looks as though they are dairy-free also.
Thumann’s All Natural products, which includes All Natural Pork and Beef Frankfurters, are gluten-free and casein-free. They also state that they have no nitrates or nitrites, no artificial, flavors, colors or preservatives, no fillers, and no MSG.
On Trader Joe’s gluten-free product list, all sausage is listed as gluten-free. Some flavors do contain dairy because they contain cheese.
Wellshire Farms products display a Smart Chart so you can easily see if it is gluten-free and dairy free. The Chicken Franks, Turkey Franks and Beef Franks are all gluten and dairy-free. You can do a search for all products by allergy, including gluten, casein/dairy, lactose, nuts, corn, soy, pepper, garlic, and mustard.
Lunch meat: gluten-free and dairy-free list
Spread the love
Related newsMira lo que hizo dios acordes para piano imagenes
Rob morris environmental cowbridge antiques
St ives accommodation new year
Que vous voudriez voir aborder french
A fofoqueira de porto alegre download
Ushaka marine accommodation in durban
Dana sari accommodation psychology
Chateau de vierset modave
Immigration quebec 2019 formulaire de visa